Advisory Council

Advisory Council meeting - November 18, 2016

Advisory Council Meeting November 2016

Advisory Council members have been selected for their individual expertise in different aspects of international studies, and for their institutional responsibilities and experience in specific industries and professions. Their diverse backgrounds have promoted an interdisciplinary orientation of activities and programs.

Chair Emeritus

Subhash Jain, Professor Emeritus
Marketing, University of Connecticut


Robert Werner, Chairman (ret.)
Timex India (ret.) and Dua Consulting (ret.)


Michael Accorsi, Professor and Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education
School of Engineering, University of Connecticut

Pamir Alpay, Director
Innovation Partnership Building at UConn Tech Park

Donald Andrews, Dean
School of Business, Southern University of Baton Rouge

Kevin Bechard, Business Department Chair
Manchester Community College

Donald Borod, Attorney-at-Law
International Trade, McCarter & English, LLP

Mark Caplan, Partner

Robert Day, Associate Professor
Operations and Information Management, University of Connecticut

Mohammad Elahee, Professor
Quinnipiac University

Monique Elliott, Global eCommerce Director
GE Industrial Solutions

Anne Evans, Director
United States Department of Commerce, Connecticut

Timothy Folta, Thomas John and Bette Wolff Chair in Strategic Entrepreneurship and Professor
Management, University of Connecticut

David Freeman, Distinguished Professor
International Business, Central Connecticut State University

Jason Giuletti, Vice President of Business Recruitment
CERC, Connecticut Economic Resource Center

Shareen Hertel, Associate Professor
Political Science and Human Rights, University of Connecticut

Mohamed Hussein, Professor
Accounting, University of Connecticut

Laura Jaworski 
Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut

Tim Kirchmann, Sr. Brand Manager

Claudia LaRocque, Instructor of Accounting
Manchester Community College

Steve McDonald, Vice President
Thomson Reuters

Paul Murphy, Chairman
Aerospace Components Manufacturers

Gustavo Nanclares, Associate Professor
Literatures, Cultures and Languages, Department Head

David Noble, Director and Associate Professor in Residence
Werth Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Management , University of Connecticut

Jenny Norris, Director
East Region, Meridian Financial Group

Katherine Pancak, Professor in Residence
Finance and Real Estate, University of Connecticut

Joseph Pancras, Associate Professor
Marketing, University of Connecticut

Stephen Park, Assistant Professor & Satell Fellow in Corporate Social Responsibility
Business Law, University of Connecticut

Yuhang Rong, Assistant Vice President
Global Affairs, University of Connecticut

Anthony Sargis, International Trade Specialist
U.S. Department of Commerce

John Schuyler, Chairman
Connecticut District Export Council

Samuel R. N. Simons, President
OEM Data Delivery

Megan Torrey, Chief Executive Officer
World Affairs Council Connecticut

Manuela Wagner, Associate Professor
Foreign Language Education, University of Connecticut

Dan Weiner, Vice President
University of Connecticut

Ashegre Yiglitu, Assistant Dean
School of Business, Southern University of Baton Rouge

Permanent Members

Sulin Ba, Faculty Director

John Elliott, Executive Director

Michele Metcalf, Director

Arminda Kamphausen, Associate Director

Advisory Council Meeting April 2017